Real, Fresh Sulphite/Salicylate-Free Bread!

Ever since I discovered my sulphite/salicylate intolerance, I haven’t had real sandwich bread in over a year and a half. A YEAR AND A HALF! It effects me more than I realize. Every day I make my children sandwiches for school, and every day I drool inside wishing I could take just one tiny bite. But store-bought bread is loaded with no-nos, and so every day I sigh and smile and pack those delicious sandwiches into their little ziploc baggies. Who ever though I’d be missing good ole PB&J?

Imagine my surprise when Becky showed up at my door with not one, but TWO beautiful hand made loaves of bread. Sheer deliciousness! Even her little daughter had to sneak a bite.

sulphitesalicylatefreebread

Here is the recipe (yummy and healthy enough for all!):

Becky’s Whole Wheat Bread

4 1/2 cups hot water
1/2 cup white sugar
3 Tablespoons yeast
1/2 cup Safflower oil
1/2 cup greek yogurt
1 tablespoon salt
2 lbs whole wheat flour
2 cups quick oats
1 cup ground flax

In a large bowl gently mix hot water, sugar and yeast. Let set 10 minutes until yeast foams. Add all remaining ingredients and mix until combined. turn dough onto floured counter and knead for 10-15 minutes. Oil the bowl you mixed in and add the dough back into it. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise 45 minutes. Punch down and let rise again for 45 minutes. Divide into three oiled loaf pans and let rise 20-30 mintues. Bake at 375 for 35 minutes.

Now if only we can invent a great spread to go with it (for now a little butter will more than do!). What possible sulphite/salicylate-free sandwich ideas can YOU come up with? (I’m thinking I might be able to figure out how to put grilled cheese back on the menu!) Please SHARE your ideas in the COMMENTS below.

One thought on “Real, Fresh Sulphite/Salicylate-Free Bread!

Leave a Reply

