Homemade Granola!!!

Image

As a life-long breakfast cereal eater, imagine my shock when I discovered that for the sulfite/salicylate intolerant, there is only ONE cereal in the universe … ONE! … that can be eaten without causing a reaction.  One cereal.  IN THE UNIVERSE.  (It’s Rice Krispies, by the way.  And ONLY the actual bonafide Rice Krispies, which, fortunately for me, I like just fine).

I am also a life-long non-yogurt eater.  The texture makes me gag.  UNLESS, of course, I can add granola and fruit.  Unfortunately, most granola (even the crunchiest of crunchy healthfood granolas) is made with brown sugar or honey or cinnamon — sure to send me straight into anaphylaxis.  Soooo …

Becky saves the day yet again!  Her healthy breakfast option?  Home made GRANOLA!  (I’ve tried chocolate and regular, and I gotta say I lean towards the chocolate).  You can have it with milk or mix it in with some PLAIN GREEK YOGURT or eat it just straight as a snack.  (I’m intrigued about trying it with Greek Yogurt and some chopped up PEELED GOLDEN DELICIOUS APPLES).

Image

Enough of my chatter — here is the delicious recipe for you to try yourself (and modify for your own particular dietary needs).

Granola
8 cups old fashioned oats
1/2 cup golden syrup
1/2 cup white sugar
2 tablespoons safflower oil

Preheat oven to 300. Pour oats into a large baking pan. In a small bowl mix to together remaining ingredients and then drizzle over the oats. Mix until oats are thoroughly coated. Bake until golden brown stirring every 15 minutes. Depending on the size of your pan it can take anywhere from 30-60 minutes to brown.

Variations:
For chocolate granola add 1/2 cup cocoa powder to the sugar oil mixture before mixing with oats.

For more nutritious breakfast, sprinkle a spoons of ground flaxseed or wheat germ on your bowlful.

 

If you are not Salicylate/Sulphite free here is the original recipe:

One large container of (2lbs 10oz I think) old fashioned oats
1 bag sweetened flaked coconut (it was the standard size I think it’s 14ozs)
2 cups honey (Or to taste/caloric desires!)
1/4 cup oil of choice (canola, coconut, etc. )
1 Tablespoon vanilla
2 tsp cinnamon
Pour oats, coconut, and cinnamon in a huge bowl. Mix together honey, oil and vanilla. Then stir into oats mixture until thoroughly mixed. Bake at 350 in large pans about 1″ to 1 1/2″ layers until golden brown stirring about every 15 minutes. Depending on the size of your pans it could take 30 minutes to an hour. I also think it is super yummy just raw also. Once it cools you can add nuts and fruit as desired.
Leave a Reply

